PDA

View Full Version : FF14 port forwarding

arucart
08-23-2010, 10:51 AM
Never really forwarded any ports before and now i got a beta key for FF14 but my local connections are at 1 and speed is wank, so basically need a complete noob guide to doing it

http://screenshots.portforward.com/BT/BT_Home_Hub_v2/Application_Sharing_-_Supported_Applications_-_Add.jpg

theres the router i have

check out that speed

Wintermute
08-23-2010, 12:47 PM
Never really forwarded any ports before and now i got a beta key for FF14 but my local connections are at 1 and speed is wank, so basically need a complete noob guide to doing it

http://screenshots.portforward.com/BT/BT_Home_Hub_v2/Application_Sharing_-_Supported_Applications_-_Add.jpg

theres the router i have

check out that speed

If you don't want to deal with the hassle of port forwarding, you can pick up a program called "uTorrent" (Here (http://www.utorrent.com/)) and open the SE patch files with it. If you're on WinXP, you can find the files necessary in: "... /My Documents/My Games/FINAL FANTASY XIV Beta Version/downloads/ffxiv-beta/d96437e6/metainfo"

From there, just load the proper torrent file with uTorrent, save the data somewhere you'll remember, and move it into ".../d96437e6/patch" when you're done.

Even before port-forwarding, just grabbing uTorrent improved my speed from a standstill with the SE client, to around 70-90 kbps.

To port forward for the SE client you'll need to figure out what ports the program uses, so you can put them in as an exception in your router's settings. Unfortunately I do not remember which ports they are off-hand. uTorrent will tell you what ports it uses when you install it (or you can configure the ports yourself), however.

Viion
08-23-2010, 12:49 PM
Heh BT, i was with them, where do you live? Might be easier to p2p it to you.

Anyway try this:
Port Range: 55296 - 55551
Translate: 55296 - 55551