PDA

View Full Version : "Fudgie's" art stuffs


fudgie
10-09-2007, 11:31 PM
Well I got my camera back and thought I'd post some artwork...
I'm not that great, but here you go! Sorry for bad light/low quality, 2 MP camera and my lights burn a dull orange. All done in pencil with telltale erase lines. ._.

aaaninja
10-10-2007, 05:37 AM
Your hands look great to me :P, and the mech/robot thing looks like something my friend could use in a card game he is/was making.

fudgie
10-10-2007, 07:40 PM
Your hands look great to me :P, and the mech/robot thing looks like something my friend could use in a card game he is/was making.

Well if your friend would like it, tell him I'll redraw it better and in any pose he'd like. It's been a year or so since I drew that. Also I'm going to try to get a tablet relatively soon so it'll be much better quality...that is, if I can get a tablet. xD

aaaninja
10-10-2007, 11:22 PM
a tablet doest really make things better quality like most say >.>..it just saves you time. Your lineart can be drawn, scaned, adjust levels, make work path etc. Like all my art was done with pencil and pen then used a mouse. And i dont really know if my friend is still doing it, he wanted me to draw mech/robots w/e and for each to have a characteristic to ther army or w/e...like one robot race or w/e was suppose to be like organic bioengeneared or something (kinda like body parts mixed with machines). One was suppose to look kinda feminen, and another was suppose to look like it was made outta scrap. But yeah he asked like a year ago :X

fudgie
10-14-2007, 07:29 PM
Oh lol xD And I just want a tablet so that I don't have to upload pictures from my digital camera. Scanners don't work on my computer for some reason. :cry:

aaaninja
10-14-2007, 07:44 PM
Oh lol xD And I just want a tablet so that I don't have to upload pictures from my digital camera. Scanners don't work on my computer for some reason. :cry:
tablets cant do that, that I know of >.>...you just need to get a scanner that will work. You can do it if my scanner is from 1998 :O

fudgie
10-16-2007, 10:21 PM
Oh lol xD And I just want a tablet so that I don't have to upload pictures from my digital camera. Scanners don't work on my computer for some reason. :cry:
tablets cant do that, that I know of >.>...you just need to get a scanner that will work. You can do it if my scanner is from 1998 :O

What I meant to say was, since scanners aren't working with my computer(because my computer is old and screwed up, getting a new one soon probably), I'd like a tablet so that I could draw on my pc :P no eraser marks+nice white background=win.

fudgie
01-18-2008, 12:24 AM
Got around to drawing a new pic after I got my new PC (With Scanner) up and running. Also included are scans of the previous 2 pics :P

Levian
01-18-2008, 01:09 AM
The new one looks pretty good. Looks like you've gotten better ^^

no eraser marks+nice white background=win

Just a helpful suggestion: I find that if you use a lighter pencil, like a 4-H and draw very very light, you wont have to erase as hard. Then once you're done with the line art you can trace it over with an HB or 2-B and it'll leave you with a much cleaner background.

aaaninja
01-18-2008, 01:13 AM
i never thought of trying that O.O use a lighter pencil instead of ink to scan....that may not work for me tho...if i put a blank piece of paper in ther my scanner still finds spots on it somehow >.>...and if i lighten it up....my scanner wouldnt pick up the thin lines from pencil...hmm guess ill just try a test later.

Levian
01-18-2008, 01:29 AM
No, I meant lighten it up as you're drawing so that you're not erasing as hard. That'll decrease the number of eraser marks and lines that are left behind because your eraser couldn't quite get it. Then darken it up with something your scanner won't have trouble picking up. It seems to work, at least for me, because tracing a line that i've already drawn is fairly easy and doesn't require much erasing. I still haven't figured out what to do about the blotches it tends to put on there even if you just scan a blank page though.

aaaninja
01-18-2008, 01:44 AM
No, I meant lighten it up as you're drawing so that you're not erasing as hard. That'll decrease the number of eraser marks and lines that are left behind because your eraser couldn't quite get it. Then darken it up with something your scanner won't have trouble picking up. It seems to work, at least for me, because tracing a line that i've already drawn is fairly easy and doesn't require much erasing. I still haven't figured out what to do about the blotches it tends to put on there even if you just scan a blank page though.

oh ok...well i already do that so no new tricks for me :X

Levian
01-18-2008, 02:00 AM
Yea, judging by the stuff you draw I'd say there isnt much i know that you haven't already figured out. But fudgie mentioned eraser marks being a problem so i thought maybe the tip might help him out a little.

fudgie
01-21-2008, 12:47 AM
Yea, judging by the stuff you draw I'd say there isnt much i know that you haven't already figured out. But fudgie mentioned eraser marks being a problem so i thought maybe the tip might help him out a little.

Thanks for the tips! :D I usually draw in a different style (like a giant sketch) and finish it off with watercolors, so I usually don't have to worry about eraser marks, but I'll try out the pencil thing when I'm drawing pictures like this.

fudgie
02-25-2008, 12:07 AM
This is my usual art style. Just thought I should post it. Done at work in my "spare" time, only tools are a clipboard, pencil and paper.

Tsubaru
09-28-2008, 12:30 AM
I love your work, Random 2 is prolly my fave. I love the style of it.

fudgie
09-28-2008, 08:35 PM
Thanks! (forgot about this thread O.o) I have some other stuff I want to upload now too but my scanner's being stupid and only scanning a little part of the 8.5/11" paper :/

Tsubaru
09-29-2008, 11:50 PM
is it like, a setting adjustment? or did something bump into it pretty hard and knock something out of place? O.o maybe uninstall and reinstall it normally works for printers when they get buggy at work.

fudgie
09-30-2008, 01:05 AM
is it like, a setting adjustment? or did something bump into it pretty hard and knock something out of place? O.o maybe uninstall and reinstall it normally works for printers when they get buggy at work.

A settings thing probably, I'll try re-installing the software sometime in the next few days/weeks/months.