Go Back   Neko-Sentai » FFXI DAT Section » FFXI Modders Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2010, 12:27 AM   #21
Korith
Too cool for Kamilynn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 242
Thanks: 4
Thanked 136 Times in 50 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by delusionalbastard View Post
sweet so your saying if mv is updated for all races so is your program?
just want to make sure i have this clear
Mostly.

The files are completely compatible. The ones for PCs can be copied over without any second thought (which is all most people care about).

However, NPC aren't completely straight forward.
MV has NPC_ROM1-5 files. ROM6+ is inside the OriginalList/NPC file. FMM needs each one in a separate file. So, updating ROM6+ has to be copied out manually.
Also, if you look at NPCs in MV, you'll occasionally see something like "Galka NPC (Up to 3-5)". In the list files I provide, I expand them out so each one of those dats can be selected in the list.
Korith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 12:45 AM   #22
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

yeah all i'm worried about right now is pc characters lol
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:57 PM   #23
Elfiwolfe
Member
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

Default

For NPC if you know the location you can edit the lists.
ie Medusa is rom4\10\3

add 10-3,Medusa to the rom4 package.

I also made an edit.txt so I can keep track of what I need to add.
Elfiwolfe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 07:34 PM   #24
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

alright what am i doing wrong
I can open up your mod manager after installing it into my documents folder
but after i update the list from the update destiney did it will no longer open
but if i revert it back to the original list it came with it opens right up?
and I doing something wrong
i'm just copy and paste the list into the list folder and saving over the old list

after updating when i got to open it nothing happens
but without the update I can do everything even open multi copies of the program

edit: when i use your update list provided further up it works as well
its just not working with the newest list from Destiney

edit2: destiney list works just fine in MV

Last edited by delusionalbastard; 05-28-2010 at 07:47 PM.
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 08:24 PM   #25
Korith
Too cool for Kamilynn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 242
Thanks: 4
Thanked 136 Times in 50 Posts

Default

Surprised I never noticed that bug before. The problem is Hume-M_Bd.lst. Look for the line "18-12-06" and change it to like "Updated 18-12-06" or "*18-12-06". Basically the file parser is confused by that line and killing the program. And in a very useless fashion, it never bothers to say anything.

I don't really feel like redoing FMM's parser (the current one is terrible though...). But I'll release a small update so that it will at least tell you where it found the problem next time this happens.
Korith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:25 PM   #26
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

i'm only seeing things like 28-28 (just two segments) i'm not seeing any 12-12-12 (three segments) in the list when i open it in notepad

whither if its your original list or the updated list in mv there both like that
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 09:26 PM   #27
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

that or i'm miss understanding what your saying all together which is possible lol
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:14 PM   #28
Destiney
Death Blossom
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Balmung
Posts: 195
Thanks: 10
Thanked 50 Times in 28 Posts

Default

He means the part of the list that someone updated with the Salvage armors. Its listed with the date updated above the .dat lists. 18-12-06 an then the .dats below it. That 18-12-06 is what he's saying is messing things up. So basically remove that date or adjust it.
Destiney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 10:26 PM   #29
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

ty that did it
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 11:33 PM   #30
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

so question once i get more than one computer running again
I see how i can easily copy this over another computer but i saw in the list it actually saved it in a personal folder
is there a way to transfer it easily or do i need to redo it where i can make it universal to move

examples:

C:/users/username/ffxiprograms/ffxidats
(where username can change per pc)

C:/ffxiprograms/ffxidats
(more universal)

another when i set it up on another computer will i half to do it all over again if you use the one where the username can change or will it change it for me automatically

or should i do it under the more universal option so i won't half to redo it?

lol if any of that made sense
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 01:43 AM   #31
Korith
Too cool for Kamilynn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 242
Thanks: 4
Thanked 136 Times in 50 Posts

Default

I'm not entirely sure what you mean. So I'll just blabber about stuff probably related.

FMM keeps track of its files inside its folder, and it doesn't matter if that folder is moved. However swap sets keep track of the full file path for each dat they swap. So, if you moved FMM to another computer, you'd need FFXI and your mods to be in the same location.

The simplest way to change the swap sets so they reference dats in a new location would be to open the list files in like notepad, and do a find and replace.
In your example:
Find: C:/users/username/
Replace: C:/
And do replace all.

Also, if you move FMM to a new computer, I would recommend deleting its Backup folder on the new computer before using it.
Korith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 01:50 AM   #32
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

i got what your saying plus i did my own testing and figured out how to make it easy for me

basically yeah use my more universal option instead of the username option

i saw what you meant in the logs and ty for the heads up on deleting the backup files

man the original setup of this seems like a big pain in the ass
but i do see how this will be a huge help in doing mods and swapping after updates exc

ty so much for making this
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 06:27 PM   #33
Thalnos
Forum Lurker
Forum Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Using FMM 1.3.4 on vista 64 bit, whenever I try to install a mod it won't let me and gives me this error:

Mod could not be installed.

Could not back up original file.

I tried reinstalling FMM and changing the ffxi directory but still no go. Is there any way to fix this or at least make it bypass the backup step?
Thalnos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 08:33 PM   #34
Korith
Too cool for Kamilynn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 242
Thanks: 4
Thanked 136 Times in 50 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalnos View Post
Using FMM 1.3.4 on vista 64 bit, whenever I try to install a mod it won't let me and gives me this error:

Mod could not be installed.

Could not back up original file.

I tried reinstalling FMM and changing the ffxi directory but still no go. Is there any way to fix this or at least make it bypass the backup step?
This is a result of FMM not having privileges to modify files in either your FFXI directory or its backup directory (usually the FFXI directory).

Heres a workaround (works for win7, should work for vista too):
Quote:
Originally Posted by korith.netne.net/ffximm.php
If you are having trouble with this program, try the following:
- The simplest solution is to disable the UAC. Simply Google 'Disable UAC' to find out how

If you don't want to disable the UAC try the following:
- If FMM is in a folder which is inside C:/Program Files/ then move it to My Documents

- Navigate to C:/Program Files/
(for x64 systems: C:/Program Files (x86)/ )
- Continue navigating to PlayOnline/SquareEnix/
- Rightclick on FINAL FANTASY XI and go to properties
- On the security tab, press the edit button
- Select 'Users (YOUR_USER_NAME/Users)'
- On the bottom, place a checkmark next to 'Full control' Allow
- Press ok, FMM should now function properly
Korith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 11:11 PM   #35
Thalnos
Forum Lurker
Forum Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

It worked, thanks a lot!
Thalnos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 12:14 PM   #36
Korith
Too cool for Kamilynn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 242
Thanks: 4
Thanked 136 Times in 50 Posts

Default

Np, glad you got it working :)
Korith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 01:39 AM   #37
Zero0018
Forum Lurker
Forum Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Will this be updated with all the new armor they've put into the game?

AWESOME program btw, this has saved me tons of time and a big headache.

I've spent about 30+ hours assembling .dats and am pretty much doing a graphical overhaul of ffx1 seeing as they never will.
Zero0018 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 02:46 PM   #38
rufiotear
be a little inappropriate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 195
Thanks: 22
Thanked 110 Times in 43 Posts

Default

Thanks. This works really good.
rufiotear is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 12:48 PM   #39
ffxiAhleah
The Rump Whisperer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,049
Thanks: 977
Thanked 365 Times in 151 Posts

Default

Sorry to necro bump this, but im curious, what would it take to add the motion/animation dats for the respective races to this program? It currently only handles armor dats, but that is still a wonderful thing ^^ <3
ffxiAhleah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 01:19 AM   #40
delusionalbastard
Hume Mod Apprentice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Broadkill Beach, DE
Posts: 938
Thanks: 43
Thanked 97 Times in 55 Posts

Default

I believe the build for the list on this was built off of one of the viewers, not sure which one

when I was in dat mods and using this program it was almost an instant port over from the viewer list to this program
delusionalbastard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Neko-Sentai » FFXI DAT Section » FFXI Modders Corner

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

design by: Themes by Design


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
punch-dnaAll company, product, system names and/or company logos and marks are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners. If you are the copyright holder of any material found on this site and believe it has been used unfairly please contact one of the forum administrators.