Go Back   Neko-Sentai » FFXI DAT Section » Hume ヒューム .dats

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2006, 01:06 AM   #1
Siya
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Little recolor request x.x

Not sure how long it takes to edit things ; ; wish I could do it myself, but not sure how nor have the programs to do it =/

Looking for HumeF 4 head recolored to red, it was part of a full set but it came out a pinkish color and I forgot who made it ; ;. Also looking for purple eyes :o like in the attached pic. I can upload the dat (when I find it, model viewer will crash my FFXI ; ; ) if needed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pol_2006_07_27_21_58_59_40_399.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	86.3 KB
ID:	881  
Siya is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 02:12 AM   #2
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

I just learned how to change textures, so I'd like to give it a try. :wink:
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 03:20 AM   #3
Kibz
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

I haven't done photoshop in like a whole half of a week...I'll race you kickern >.>
Kibz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 03:50 AM   #4
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

OK, I fail :cry: Somehow when I try to put the texture back into the .dat with ChangeTex it doesn't do the alpha mapping, either that or GraphicsConverter messes it up when I change my .bmp back to .dds. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong here? I added a pic so you can see what I've got so far.
Edit: you win by default Kibz :P
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	changetex_405.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	886   Click image for larger version

Name:	modelview_117.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	119.1 KB
ID:	887  
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 03:57 AM   #5
Kibz
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Never used ChangeTex before so I haven't got a clue what's wrong >.< Hit a problem too though, my photoshop deleted the alpha layer I made XD
Kibz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 04:06 AM   #6
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kibz
Never used ChangeTex before so I haven't got a clue what's wrong >.< Hit a problem too though, my photoshop deleted the alpha layer I made XD
Hmm... the race is still on!... maybe :lol:

Edit: I just pulled the new texture out with ChangeTex and it still has the alpha mapping correct even tho it doesn't display right in model viewer... I'm totally stumped here.
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 04:59 AM   #7
Wenrick
The Venerable Wen
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Idaho, Cactuar
Posts: 1,507
Thanks: 27
Thanked 45 Times in 37 Posts

Default

Looks like I win.

But if you want a different color scheme, you need to be more specific. I can add lipstick, eyeshadow, mascara, and so on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	redhairvioleteyes_567.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	16.9 KB
ID:	909  
Attached Files
File Type: rar hf4a_863.rar (33.0 KB, 63 views)
Wenrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:08 AM   #8
Kibz
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

And there wenrick gets it >.> I had some piece I couldn't get rid of hanging out in the air for some reason...

Oh and kickern, I've got your problem too for some reason now o.O but this is the only dat I've done that has given me it. For some reason half the time I had to go over my layer with a black paint bucket to get rid of the extra brownish color. Course there's a bottom layer I can't see in photoshop that shows up even if I turn the whole image black...
Kibz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 05:31 PM   #9
Melisande
Member
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

Default

Well uh >_>; while we are on the subject of recolor requests I was wondering if I could ninja mine in. I've tried giving the base 4a head model blue eyes, copy pasted from 4b, but each time I do the hair turns a nasty green instead of black. I was wondering if anyone would be willing to do that for me?
Melisande is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 06:31 PM   #10
Siya
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

<3<3 I love red heads >.> I dunno why.... <3 Nel also, that's why I wanted this head >.> looks kinda like Nel
Siya is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 06:35 PM   #11
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

I fail once again... keep getting this same problem. :cry:
Btw, Kibz or Wenrick... how do you guys do your texture editing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	blackhair_312.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	150.3 KB
ID:	914  
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 01:05 AM   #12
Wenrick
The Venerable Wen
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Idaho, Cactuar
Posts: 1,507
Thanks: 27
Thanked 45 Times in 37 Posts

Default

I pretty much use Photoshop exclusively. I have the nvidia plugin for photoshop so I do everything there. It makes alpha channels easy too, if you know what you're doing.

1- Polygon tool around the hair areas.
2- Replace color didn't work, so I used Selective color, and that worked much better.
3- Chose a bluish violet color and used brush tool with 50% opacity in the eye region. Did several strokes until the desired shade was reached.
4- Convert .mqo to .dat, copy, paste, zip, upload.

This concludes my pathetic photoshop tutorial.

Wenrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 05:17 PM   #13
Palom
Member
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickern
I fail once again... keep getting this same problem. :cry:
Btw, Kibz or Wenrick... how do you guys do your texture editing?
When you export the original, load up the .dds in GraphicsConverter, then do File->Save as Alpha Channel and save the alpha map as a different file name. Then, do your edits and such. When you load in your edited .bmp into GraphicsConverter, do File->Open as Alpha Channel, and import the alpha map you previously saved. This should give you some gray and white squares where it will be transparent. Then convert and save as .DDS.
Palom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 06:17 PM   #14
Kibz
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

I use Photoshop CS2, text and brushes are the only extra things I have for it.

As far as changing colors go... I outline what i want to edit with the pen, make it a selection, and usually use different modes of brushes like overlay so I don't get that single color rubber look I hate.(been fading with grey and black lately too so it fits in)

After I make my edits and save it then make a new layer, set to multiply and fill it with white. Then I color over the things I don't want with black, change the mode to normal, save as "(Name)SkinA".

Then I go into graphics converter and load up the original, then file > Open as alpha > the second copy. Then just the usual what ever the hell that button's called to switch it back to a file type that .dat's can use.
Kibz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 06:29 PM   #15
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Palom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickern
I fail once again... keep getting this same problem. :cry:
Btw, Kibz or Wenrick... how do you guys do your texture editing?
When you export the original, load up the .dds in GraphicsConverter, then do File->Save as Alpha Channel and save the alpha map as a different file name. Then, do your edits and such. When you load in your edited .bmp into GraphicsConverter, do File->Open as Alpha Channel, and import the alpha map you previously saved. This should give you some gray and white squares where it will be transparent. Then convert and save as .DDS.
That is exactly what I did, look at the first set of pictures I posted. It still don't work!
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Neko-Sentai » FFXI DAT Section » Hume ヒューム .dats

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.

design by: Themes by Design


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
punch-dnaAll company, product, system names and/or company logos and marks are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners. If you are the copyright holder of any material found on this site and believe it has been used unfairly please contact one of the forum administrators.