Go Back   Neko-Sentai » Final Fantasy MMO » FFXI Stuff

Notices

Old 05-12-2007, 03:47 AM   #1
Kyrika
Regular Forum User
Forum Member

Default PS2 Issues

Ok, so I've been playing FFXI on PS2 for 3 years or so now and my PS2 is showing signs of... well... dying. Wont read discs, and in game I get slowdowns a lot worse than I used to, and freezing up more than before as well. I have another PS2 here, a fair bit newer and in good working order, but when I try to run FFXI on it, the following happens.

I go into Browser, I go into the HDD, and I select POL Viewer. The screen fades out, like normal, but then after a few seconds, it fades back to the browser and wont actually start the viewer.

Does anyone know why it's doing that and/or how to make it work? It's bugging me, and with the announcement of the new expansion in winter this year, I'm doubting my current PS2 will survive long enough to even install the expansion, let along run it >.<
Old 05-12-2007, 05:08 AM   #2
Akumamoto
Regular Forum User
Doujin Team

For starters, make sure you know your user name and password for FFXI and to record or know the account info aka credit/debit card, person name, birthdate, etc that you filled in. This way if something goes wrong, you're not screwed.

In order to use a PS2's HDD with a PC or another PS2, it must be reformated, meaning all data is lost and then it'll work with the new unit.

If your PS2 is having trouble reading discs, you can still partially revive that portion by turning the unit off and unplugging it and then removing the top (it's connected to the base via a ribbon cable so caution) and unscrewing and taking off the plate that covers the disc drive. This will expose the laser reader which you don't want to look at (if you're under warranty, it's best to go through warranty) since it can damage your eyes. By the disc reader is a weird looking dial that adjusts the distance between the laser and where the disc sits.