Go Back   Neko-Sentai » Final Fantasy MMO » FFXI Stuff

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2007, 01:48 PM   #1
Jadoji
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Graphix card or memory issue?

I never play on pc, just started messing around with the .dats and stuff.

I have a fresh install of the Van Coll. I don't seem to have a problem with anything like media files and the likes, but if i log on to FFXI on my pc to check out the dats in game I get all those wild textures and shapes filling the screen.

I have an NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 card right now and i think 512mb memory.

Any ideas what would solve my problem?

I found this on Youtube, pretty much whats happening to me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsIzRNz4Gfw
Jadoji is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 04:13 PM   #2
kitkat
Motion Editor
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: in zee mountains!
Posts: 1,778
Thanks: 81
Thanked 379 Times in 175 Posts

Default

Looks like a Vram issue if you are having trouble like that. Only thing I can think of elsewise is maybe that your card isn't supported or your drivers are the cause. Try reverting to the drivers your card came with or updating to lates drivers.
kitkat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 04:57 PM   #3
Rina Refine
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Default

ur graphics card has to be FULLY 100% compatible with AT LEAST direct X 8.1.
ur graphics card, NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000, works with direct X 7, and that's it's limit.
so, unless u get a NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti (which is the MINIMUM u can have) or better graphics card (there's GeForce7&8 now, u would have to scavenge the site to look up older ones, especially because NVIDIA GeForce4 MX was very unpopular.) u cant play because of direct X. changing to Vista wont help as well, even if u had a NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti, u would lag and might have trouble with POL even before FFXI. if ur gonna get a NVIDIA FX series card, then u wont be able to use BumpMap. (well honestly, most ppl dont know how the FFXI settings work and/or tell the difference in the quality)
so ur kinda screwed with ur setting...
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 05:47 PM   #4
Jadoji
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rinaxrina
ur graphics card has to be FULLY 100% compatible with AT LEAST direct X 8.1.
ur graphics card, NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000, works with direct X 7, and that's it's limit.
so, unless u get a NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti (which is the MINIMUM u can have) or better graphics card (there's GeForce7&8 now, u would have to scavenge the site to look up older ones, especially because NVIDIA GeForce4 MX was very unpopular.) u cant play because of direct X. changing to Vista wont help as well, even if u had a NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti, u would lag and might have trouble with POL even before FFXI. if ur gonna get a NVIDIA FX series card, then u wont be able to use BumpMap. (well honestly, most ppl dont know how the FFXI settings work and/or tell the difference in the quality)
so ur kinda screwed with ur setting...
Thanks for the replies guys.

Rina, I'll grab a new card and see. So anything better than Force4 Ti right?

lmao, i have to avert my eyes from your avatar. Gives me unclean thoughts.
Jadoji is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 05:52 PM   #5
Rina Refine
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Default

how about u discuss here what ur planning to get before buying >_<
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 05:55 PM   #6
Barachiel
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 0
Thanked 53 Times in 43 Posts

Default

Make sure you check the wattage on your power supply.
Barachiel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 06:06 PM   #7
Jadoji
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

My tower is pretty beefy i think, so i was gonna get a good card.

and i'll check my power supply right after this dyna run

Ok heres what my system is.

Intel Pent4 w/ MMX 2.4 gb
windows xp
DirectX 9.0
Asus P4VP-MX
512 mb memory
NVIDIA GeForce4-MX 4000
Jadoji is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 07:28 PM   #8
Gulkeeva
Mithra Ero-Sensei
The hentai is out there...
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Near Mithra
Posts: 22,208
Thanks: 2,087
Thanked 6,589 Times in 3,421 Posts

Default

Reminds me of when I had an old radeon card and I turned off a D3D option for uhh.... antialiasing I think it was... and for some reason it became really strange looking.

if ya use any "graphic tweak tools" try moving any mods, go back to factory default
Gulkeeva is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Neko-Sentai » Final Fantasy MMO » FFXI Stuff

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

design by: Themes by Design


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
punch-dnaAll company, product, system names and/or company logos and marks are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners. If you are the copyright holder of any material found on this site and believe it has been used unfairly please contact one of the forum administrators.