Go Back   Neko-Sentai » FFXI DAT Section » FFXI Modders Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2008, 12:33 AM   #1
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default Selection deletion

Have been trying to solve this problem on my own for quite some time. Really didn't want to have to bother anyone for an answer but here I am heh. I downloaded The MesQ~ program and have been adjusting, guess I should say attempting to, the Armor I mentioned in my other post. I deleted the portions I wanted to, and every thing seemed fine, but upon uploading it in MV it seems like the area were I deleted portions of the armor from, now reach out into the vast of space. Is this because, by deleting said portions I have inadvertantly ersaed some type of set limitation of the armors plane? In other words, "I done f-ed up" =P. Anyone have any idea what the problem is and how I can solve it?
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:58 AM   #2
Mayhem
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 111
Thanks: 1
Thanked 29 Times in 8 Posts

Default

You can't delete or create anything in Meta. Only in VRS.
Mayhem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:15 AM   #3
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

That sux, is there anyway to get around login problem of VRS. Or is the site working now, guess it doesn't really matter I can't log my labtop onto the internet atm, and you have tobe logged on to use VRS right?
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 06:10 AM   #4
Ferris
Hits refresh on here alot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Quetzalcoatl
Posts: 1,581
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 29 Posts

Default

*technically* you CAN delete in meta:

1) If you actually delete it, yay weight explosions!
2) If it's not part of the main skin (I.E. kneepad on crimson legs for example), you can drag the vertexes away from the skin, and use the scale tool to scale it down to as small as possible (Which is usually invisible), and place it in the center of the skin.


VRS login info is guest/guest, iirc
Ferris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 10:56 AM   #5
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Sweet thanx
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:20 PM   #6
Mayhem
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 111
Thanks: 1
Thanked 29 Times in 8 Posts

Default

Quote:
you can drag the vertexes away from the skin, and use the scale tool to scale it down to as small as possible (Which is usually invisible), and place it in the center of the skin
/shudders
You can also use alpha maps while your at it.

/more uncontrollable shuddering

Seriously though, You defiantly can do those things, but its dirty modding. At least thats how I feel about it.
VRS really isn't that bad of a program. Don't be intimidated by it. Once you get in there and start playing around with it, you'll realize its fairly easy to use and can really give you alot of cool options, and make for a lot better dats then what you can accomplish in Meta alone.
Mayhem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 03:48 PM   #7
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Yea I broke down and DL-ed VRS again onto my other pc. Was reading through the tutorial, everything was all good, until I got to the portion where you click on the "FFXI Model Importer" in the tool box. My box is empty w/o anything at all within it. So I figured It was do to FFXI not being installed on this pc. So instead on installing the entire game I thought I would be slick and only add the ROMs, in the same C\ProgramFiles\PlayOnlineSquareEnix\FFXI style. However, the tool box still doesn't have anything within it. Any ideas what could be the problem?
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 03:53 PM   #8
Ferris
Hits refresh on here alot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Quetzalcoatl
Posts: 1,581
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 29 Posts

Default

Did you use the proper directory (C:\Program files\PlayOnline\SquareEnix\FINAL FANTASY XI) ?
Ferris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 03:55 PM   #9
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Yea but I'm guessin it would just be easier if I went ahaed and Installed FFXI on this PC huh?
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:01 PM   #10
Mayhem
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 111
Thanks: 1
Thanked 29 Times in 8 Posts

Default

I was speaking with Zer05um while ago, and it seamed he had the same issue. I think one of the things he had to do was install Directx on the machine he was using. I can't really think of any reason that you'd need to fully install FFXI.
Mayhem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:09 PM   #11
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayhem
I was speaking with Zer05um while ago, and it seamed he had the same issue. I think one of the things he had to do was install Directx on the machine he was using. I can't really think of any reason that you'd need to fully install FFXI.
That is correct, while you don't need to have FFXI installed, you will still need the dat files you want to work with. That would also include the ones with the base skeleton for whichever race you're using.
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:11 PM   #12
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

I believe this PC has DirectX 8 on it. Is that current enough for VRS?
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:13 PM   #13
Mayhem
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 111
Thanks: 1
Thanked 29 Times in 8 Posts

Default

You'll want at least 9.b
Mayhem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:17 PM   #14
Kickern
Forum Police
Dat Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,964
Thanks: 67
Thanked 235 Times in 122 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayhem
You'll want at least 9.b
I think it's version 9.0c that is available for download on the VRS website. That is the one you want to have to make VRS have the FFXI toolbox work.
Kickern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 04:20 PM   #15
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

ok, ty for the much love, yall are bestowin' apon me d(0.~)
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 08:27 PM   #16
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Saddly, its still not working for me. I 'm on my laptop atm, and it has DirectX 10. Any other ideas what may be wrong?
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 10:17 PM   #17
howardec
Regular Forum User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Never mind I got it to work. For what ever reason I had to dl DirectX 9 into my VRS folder. So it is working now, even though I have DX10 on this. I guess now the fun begins. So much more complicated than MesQ =P
howardec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Neko-Sentai » FFXI DAT Section » FFXI Modders Corner

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.

design by: Themes by Design


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
punch-dnaAll company, product, system names and/or company logos and marks are the registered trademarks or trademarks of their respective owners. If you are the copyright holder of any material found on this site and believe it has been used unfairly please contact one of the forum administrators.